Friday, February 5, 2016

9:00a – 9:30a

Conference Introductions, Welcoming:

  • St. Louis Mayor Francis G. Slay
  • St. Louis County Executive Steve Stenger (invited)
  • St. Louis University Law School Dean Michael Wolff
  • HUD Regional Administrator Jennifer Tidwell (invited)

9:30a – 10:15a

Understanding Public Investments in Our Region: Housing, Economic Development and Transportation, with Panelists:

  • Will Winter
  • Sarah Coffin
  • Lisa Cagle

Moderator: Patricia Lee, SLU Law Clinic

10:15a – 10:30a

15-Minute Break

10:30a – 11:45a

Featured Speaker: What is Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing

Gustavo Velasquez, HUD FHEO Assistant Secretary

11:45a – 12:00p

15-Minute Break

12:00p – 1:15p

Featured Luncheon Speaker: Implementing the AFFH Rule

Jeffrey May, MURP Principal of International Development and Planning

1:15p – 1:30p

15-Minute Break

1:30p – 3:00p

Afternoon Presentations: The Experience of other Cities

  • Robin Snyderman, Principal, Brick Partners, Evanston Il.
  • Demetria McCain, Esq., V.P. Inclusive Communities Project, Dallas TX
  • Philip Tegeler

Moderator: Ed Wartts, HUD FHEO

3:00p – 3:30p

OneSTL: Plan for a Prosperous, Healthy, Vibrant St. Louis Region

Aaron Young, EWGCC OneSTL


Conference Day 1 Wrap-Up

Saturday, February 6, 2016

9:00a – 9:15a

Conference Introduction

Will Jordan, Executive Director, Metropolitan Equal Housing Opportunity Council

Recap of Day 1

Kay Gasen, CREA Commissioner

9:15a – 10:30a

Panel on AFFH: Q&A with Panelists:

  • Gustavo Velasquez, HUD Assistant Secretary for Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity
  • Jeffrey May, MURP, Principal, International Development and Planning

Moderator: Kay Gasen, CREA Commissioner

10:30a – 10:45a

15-Minute Break

10:45a – 11:45a

Presentations on Local Planning Efforts

  • Chris Krehmeyer, Beyond Housing, featuring their 24:1 Plan

Moderator: Molly Metzger


Conference Finale

Will Jordan, Executive Director, Metropolitan Equal Housing Opportunity Council

Charles Bryson, CREA Executive Director

Registration is open now and will remain open until Feb 1, 2016. Don’t wait – register today!